National Cybersecurity Policy Forum

The National Cybersecurity Framework - Improving Critical Infrastructure: What’s Next?

National Press Club,
First Amendment Lounge, 13th Floor
529 14th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20005
Attend in-person or online.

Follow the conversation on Twitter #USTcyber

Last year, President Obama issued an executive order calling for the government to “collaborate more closely with critical infrastructure owners and operators to strengthen cybersecurity, particularly by sharing information about cyber threats and jointly developing a framework of cybersecurity standards and best practices.” White House, federal government and industry officials will discuss the final framework called for under the 2013 Executive Order, “Improving Critical Infrastructure Cybersecurity,” released Feb. 12, 2014. The panel discussions are part of an ongoing dialogue on cybersecurity policy issues sponsored by USTelecom’s National Cybersecurity Policy Forum.

7:45-8:15 a.m.   Registration (for in-person attendees)
8:15 a.m.   Welcome: Walter McCormick, President and CEO, USTelecom
8:20 a.m.   Keynote: Michael Daniel, White House Special Assistant to the President and Cybersecurity Coordinator (Q&A to follow)
8:40 a.m.   Panel One: What are Next Steps for the Framework?
Moderated by:   Alexei Alexis, Reporter, Bloomberg BNA
Panelists:   Jenny Menna, Director, Stakeholder Engagement and Cyber Infrastructure Resilience Division, Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
    Samara Moore, Director of Critical Infrastructure, White House National Security Council Staff
    Ari Schwartz, Director for Cybersecurity Privacy, Civil Liberties and Policy, White House National Security Staff
    Adam Sedgewick, Senior Information Technology Policy Advisor, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
9:35 a.m.   Panel Two: Industry Perspectives
Moderated by:   Charlie Mitchell, Editor, Inside Cybersecurity
Panelists:   Nadya Bartol, Senior Cybersecurity Strategist, Utilities Telecom Council
    Christopher Boyer, Assistant Vice President, Global Policy, AT&T
    Kathryn Condello, Director of National Security, CenturyLink
    Doug Johnson, Vice President and Senior Advisor, Risk Management Policy, American Bankers Association (ABA)
    Angela McKay, Director, Cybersecurity Policy and Strategy, Microsoft