Brian Weiss

USTelecom Statement on President-Elect Biden National Security Team

WASHINGTON, DC – USTelecom | The Broadband Association, a leading association of connectivity providers and technology innovators, today issued the following statement after President-elect Joe Biden announced key members of his national security team including: Antony Blinken, Secretary of State; Alejandro Mayorkas, Secretary of Homeland Security; Avril Haines, Director of National Intelligence; Linda Thomas-Greenfield, U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations; Jake Sullivan, National Security Advisor; and John Kerry, Special Presidential Envoy for Climate.

USTelecom president and CEO Jonathan Spalter said:

“At a time when communications technology is increasingly converging with complex matters of international commerce, diplomacy, intelligence and national security, President-elect Biden has selected a team of experienced and steady foreign policy and national security professionals who understand this convergence.

“Our global communications networks, including our world-leading 5G networks, remain the target of a range of cybersecurity threats, most of which originate from countries that are not friendly to our national interest. USTelecom’s communications innovators and the technologies they deploy also are critical to advancing solutions across our broader national security interests from climate to multilateral engagement to global health and economic productivity.

“Our members and I look forward to working with this distinguished team to further advance and secure American technology leadership globally. We extend our congratulations to Antony Blinken, Alejandro Mayorkas, Avril Haines, Linda Thomas-Greenfield, Jake Sullivan and John Kerry.”


USTelecom is the national trade association representing technology providers, innovators, suppliers, and manufacturers committed to connecting the world through the power of broadband.