Brian Weiss

USTelecom Elects New Board Chair, Officers and Leadership Committee Members

Verizon’s Kathy Grillo will Chair Board of Directors

Connectivity leaders from the technology and broadband ecosystem; representing global, regional and heartland providers across the country

WASHINGTON, DC – USTelecom | The Broadband Association, a leading association of connectivity providers and innovators, today announced new officers and additions to its Board of Directors and Leadership Committee.

“This is a talented leadership team representing the full spectrum of USTelecom’s diverse and innovative membership – from local Main Street companies and heartland cooperatives to global technology leaders. They represent providers that stepped up during the pandemic to keep our country connected and know what it takes to deploy a network, serve a community and connect a family,” said Jonathan Spalter, President and CEO of USTelecom.

Board of Directors

Kathy Grillo, Senior Vice President, Public Policy and Government Affairs at Verizon, was elected to serve as the new Chair of the USTelecom Board of Directors

Jason Williams, CEO of Montana-based Blackfoot Communications, was elected as Vice Chair

Darby McCarty, CEO and Chairwoman of the Board of Indiana-based Smithville Communications, will continue to serve as Secretary

Mark Nielsen, Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer at Frontier Communications, continues as Treasurer

New members elected to serve on the Board of Directors this year include Takami Abe, General Manager at NTT; and Julie Kearney, Vice President of Communications Regulatory Affairs and Policy at Twilio.

Kathy Grillo added: “I’m thrilled to chair USTelecom’s Board of Directors at this pivotal time when broadband expansion is a national priority. Broadband makes so many things possible. It powers our homes, schools, businesses, hospitals, farms and workplaces. And during the pandemic, broadband helped sustain our economy. But we can do better. We must close the digital divide and ensure all Americans have access to broadband and the benefits it brings. Expanding broadband’s reach will fuel our nation’s future growth. For the first time, this is also a board and Leadership Committee that is mostly women-led, a value and a priority I share with Jonathan. I’m looking forward to working with this group of broadband leaders to help guide the important work happening in Washington and state capitals in the year ahead.”

Leadership Committee

Jeff England, Vice President and CFO of Wyoming-based Silver Star Communications, was elected Chair of USTelecom’s Leadership Committee, comprised of leaders from regional and mid-sized broadband innovators serving communities across the country.

England will serve alongside Jennifer Prather, Vice President and General Manager of Texas-based Totelcom Communications, who was elected Vice Chair; and Becky Scott, President of Kansas-based EPICTOUCH, who was elected as Secretary.

Photos of executives in today’s announcement available on request.


USTelecom is the national trade association representing technology providers, innovators, suppliers, and manufacturers committed to connecting the world through the power of broadband. Visit us at